Contentment, continued

I tapped out that previous post on my iPod while sitting on the couch, and am hoping that now that I have access to a keyboard that I’ll be able to communicate in a more clear manner. Here goes nothing.

I was brought to the point of addressing the problem of human satisfaction and its relationship with, well, relationships, upon watching a movie with my family. I have never had a very good opinion of the majority of movies that come out of the studio, partially out of lack of interest and partially out of the state of depression that judging each character usually brings upon me. I find the focal points of most movies to be both tiresome and irritating. Whether it’s the classic problem of seeking love through a series of shallow relationships or saving the world by blowing everything up and winning the girl, I don’t find any particular storyline to be any bit novel or thoughtful. In fact, these are every bit indicative of the many problems that plague society today. Do we really want to measure success by activities that are short-term, superficial, and unfulfilling?

I’ve been called out more than once for seeming somewhat cold or not being empathetic when thinking through these sorts of things, but I do not mean this as an indictment against humanity itself. I am asking for a culture of action to become more a culture of thought. We idolize the people that get out there and take risks, think on their feet, and are willing to butt heads to get what they want. But is that really the kind of person we want to be? I can grant that there are some people who are naturally more inclined to be people of impulse, and perhaps we do need a certain number of those people to be a well-rounded species, but to make that our norm, our goal, and our ideal is at best misguided and at worst immensely limiting and destructive upon the lives of many people. Our world cannot be one-size fits all, and we certainly should not encourage personalities that carry along with them behavior patterns that we know are unhealthy. (How many of us have known an impulsive person who does not occasionally get themselves and/or their loved ones in trouble because they just did not think?)

As I mentioned in my last post, I am asking for a system of balance and reasonability. I do not expect everyone to be thinkers like myself. In fact, I think that would be bad for society and I think it would make me quite bored. What many people do not realize is that I get a lot of my entertainment in social gatherings from watching people just be people. It’s fun.

To sum up, I am incredibly frustrated with nearly every aspect of the society, but not to the point of cynicism. In fact, I see a lot of potential in every person I see. That is what keeps me going. I want to see success in every single life that I see, and it pains me to see that so many of us (myself especially included) are not living up to what we are capable of. And because of what? It is the habit of society that drags us down. Some of us learn to manipulate society well enough to succeed, but most of us are left in the dust. That has to change.

Contentment, continued

Leave a Reply

